IN THIS ARTICLE:

Every project in Layer is a collaborative environment where people for within your company or outside collaborators can work together.


Project-level Roles and Permissions allow Project Owners to set and manage who has access to their Project. This includes granting access to non-paid users outside of their company such as clients and consultants.

Billing is managed at the Company level, not at the Project level.

ROLES

Company Users: Paid users within your company. Company Users can be assigned any of the permission levels listed below: Project Owner, Editor, Contributor, or Viewer.

Project Collaborators: Typically non-paid users outside of your company. Non-paying Project Collaborators can be assigned only the permission level of Contributor or Viewer (see permission level descriptions below). If they require additional permissions, they will need to upgrade to a paid seat.

The number of non-paid Project Collaborators is limited by plan level. You can invite non-paid Project Collaborators through the Project Dashboard within a Project.

PERMISSION LEVELS

"Project Owner" permission level: Granted only to Company Users (paid users within your company). Company Users with this permission level have access to all of the administrative features within the project. This includes having the capability to delete and update the project and to change the Project Owner.

"Editor" permission level: Granted to any paid user, inside or outside of your company. This permission level provides access to all of the administrative features within the project, but these users cannot delete and update the project or change the Project Owner.

"Contributor" permission level: Granted to both paid and non-paid users. This permission level provides access to view a project's contents and make specific edits and updates per the list below:

Can:

  • Add, assign, and complete Tasks

  • Add Notes

  • Upload and view Files and Photos

  • Update the value of Fields

  • View Layer data in Revit

Can't:

  • Add elements

  • Add, edit, or delete Fields

  • Add, edit, or delete Categories

  • Markup Files

  • Sync a Revit model


"Viewer" permission level: Granted to both paid and non-paid users. This permission level provides access to only view and comment on a Project.


Did we miss something?

Not to worry! Just email our support team at help@layer.team ✌️

Did this answer your question?